Monday, March 29, 2010

BCTLA Awards and Grants Deadline Draws Near

The nomination deadline for the 2010 British Columbia Teacher-Librarians' Association awards and grants is Thursday, April 1st!

  • BC Teacher-Librarian of the Year - Diana Poole Memorial Award
  • BC New Teacher-Librarian of the Year Award
  • Val Hamilton Achievement Award
  • BCTLA Distinguished Service Award
  • BCTLA Honorary Life Membership Award


  • Ken Haycock Professional Development Grant
  • William H. Scott Memorial BCTLA Conference Grant
  • BCTLA Chapter Grant Program

Please visit for more information and any nomination forms that may be required.

Sunday, March 28, 2010

Survey Deadline Extended Until April 5

To date, there has been a 2010 Working and Learning Conditions Survey response for 600 B.C. public schools in BC! However, there are still a number of public schools that still could have a response. The survey deadline has been extended until April 5! Please continue to submit survey responses at

Saturday, March 20, 2010

Revision of the BCTLA Constitution

The text of the proposed new BCTLA Constitution is now available for preview.

Revision Highlights:

  • Revised Executive titles and roles (pg. 1)
  • All Executive positions now elective with two year terms (pg. 2)
  • “Sections” added as a way for BCTLA Subscribers to affiliate, e.g. private school teacher-librarians, as Chapters are a way for BCTLA Members to affiliate (pg. 2)
  • Chapter Councilor formula now based on number of schools (pg.3)
  • Quorum numbers added (pg. 4)
  • Ability to vote by phone or electronically added (pg. 4)
  • Time period of advance written notice for bylaw and constitutional amendments reduced to two weeks (pg. 5)
As per the 2003 BCTLA Constitution under which we continue to operate, the motion to the Annual General Meeting of the adoption of the new BCTLA Constitution shall originate in Council on the morning of April 17, 2010.

The Proposed Amendment will then be voted on at the 2010 BCTLA AGM which will be held concurrenty with the Spring Council between 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. on April 17, 2010 at the Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, 711 West Broadway, Vancouver, B.C., Canada.